Meeting of the Schools
Share |


2017 Meeting of Schools

June 14 - 15, 2017

  • This meeting is separate from the SYTAR conference and requires a separate registration for Meeting of Schools attendees
  • For program directors and faculty of IAYT Member Schools only  (up to 4 per school) 
  • $35/ person - pre-registered; OR $50/ person at the door
  • Must be signed in as a current Member School to register
  • Not yet a Member School?  Be sure to become a member ASAP to attend this important meeting
  • Never been?  See SYTAR 2016 Meeting of Schools by Susi Hately

2017 Meeting of Schools

June 14 -  15, 2017
Held in the  
Baycliff Meeting Room
4 - 5:30 pm Opening Community Building and Welcome Reception
5:30 - 7 pm 
On your own.  Meet old friends and connect with new.

   7 - 9 pm


  1. Centering
  2. Accreditation Committee
    • Proposed standards revisions
      • Curriculum Integration
      • Increased requirements for the Program Director
      • Increased requirements for Faculty
  3. Stretch Break

  4. Certification Committee
    • Update on credentialing and what it means for our field
      • Lessons learned and shining examples
      • Last chance for grandparenting!
      • What happens next?
    • Approved Professional Development (APD) courses
      • For continuing education and shorter "specialty trainings"
      • A pilot program: why, what, when
  5. Evening Closing

June 15


9 - 10:15 am


Meeting of Schools Continued

Presentation and Q&A on "The Future & Growth of Yoga Therapy" - will include details on professional ethics

10:15 - 10:30 am   Break

10:30 - 11:45 am

Sharing of Ideas/Methods/Techniques

  • Practicum
  • Assessment
  • On-line Learning
  • Marketing
  • Professional Development/Continuing Education
11:45 am -Noon   Closing for 2017 Meeting of Schools

*More details to come as program is developed and finalized

"I really appreciated insight into the specialty programs and participating in the discussion for criteria of faculty and distance learning. It felt, for me, so respectful and meaningful to know that our ideas are valued and matter to IAYT."  -2016 MOS Attendee

IAYT appreciates and recognizes the dedication and work of this year's MOS Committee:

  • Mary Northey (Integrative Yoga Therapy), Co-chair
  • Sue Tebb (IAYT Accreditation Committee), Co-chair
  • Brahmi Gold-Bernstein (Tri Yoga Boston)
  • Heidi Crocker
  • Sara Greco (Phoenix Rising Yoga Therapy)
  • Anne Pitman (Ottawa School of Embodied Yoga)
  • Aimee McBride (Maryland University of Integrative Health)
  • Denise Peterson (Maryland University of Integrative Health)
  • Catherine Deans (Half Moon Yoga)
  • Beth Novian Hughes (Breathe Yoga Therapy)
  • Carol Krucoff (Integrative Yoga for Seniors Professional Training)
  • Kimberly Carson (Integrative Yoga for Seniors Professional Training)
  • Micah Mortali (Kripalu Center for Yoga and Health)


Member schools who have not yet applied for accreditation OR who are working on documentation for their applications may wish to attend the early afternoon Accreditation Q & A.  Click below for details.

Register for the
Meeting of Schools