Ethics Review Panel
Share |

The IAYT Ethics and Disciplinary Review Panel

Committee Members


Leigh Blashki is the founder of the Australian Institute of Yoga Therapy and has trained yoga teachers since 2000 and yoga therapists since 2006. In recent years he has developed a reputation as a leader in the fields of Yoga, Yoga Therapy and is a sought-after presenter. He is a Yoga Australia Senior Registered Teacher, AAYT Registered Yoga Therapist and has post-graduate qualifications in Health Sciences. Leigh has over 36 years’ experience as a Yoga teacher and 22 years as a Yoga Therapist. He has served on the IAYT Standards Committee and Accreditation Committees and is now a member of the Certification Committee. From 2012 to end 2014 Leigh was President of Yoga Australia and was the founding secretary of the AAYT. His teachers have included: Michael Volin, A.G. Mohan and Dr Richard Miller. In 2013, Leigh was conferred an IAYT Presidential Award for "extraordinary service to the field of yoga therapy”.


Carrie Demers, MD, Chair.  Board-certified in internal medicine, Carrie Demers, MD, is a holistic physician who blends modern medicine with traditional approaches to health. After receiving her medical degree from the University of Cincinnati, Dr. Demers went on to study massage, homeopathy, nutrition, herbal medicine, yoga, and ayurveda. She has been the Director of the Himalayan Institute Total Health Center for the last 16 years. Widely recognized for her expertise, Dr. Demers has been interviewed by numerous magazines and newspapers and lectures nationally on holistic health and ayurveda. She is a frequent contributor to Yoga International.


Janice Gates, founder of Somatic Yoga Therapy programs, has been a practicing yoga therapist for over 20 years. She is past president and current advisor to IAYT, has served on the faculty of the Yoga Research and Education Center, and written widely on yoga, yoga therapy and meditation.She is author of the pioneering book, Yogini, the Power of Women in Yoga and her work has been featured in Yoga Journal, Yoga International, IJYT and Oprah Magazine. She currently trains and mentors yoga professionals and healthcare practitioners in how to use the incredibly sophisticated tools of yoga for healing.


Hansa Knox, LMT, ERYT, Accreditation Committee Chair.   Hansa is an ongoing student of Kripalu yoga, and, she has integrated work from other teachers who have offered insights on the path of yoga. She utilizes yoga, yoga cikitsa, ayurveda and massage in her practice. She owns the PranaYoga and Ayurveda Mandala in Denver where she teaches yoga classes, yoga teacher and yoga therapy trainings. Hansa is president of Sanga, past president of Yoga Alliance and Yoga Teachers Of Colorado. She has served on the Board of Kripalu Center, International Yoga College and is an advisor to International Association of Yoga Therapy.


Committee Support

John Kepner, MA, MBA. IAYT Executive Director John has served as executive director since IAYT's renewal in 2003. He is a practicing yoga teacher and therapist with a professional background in economics, finance, and non-profit management. John holds teacher and therapist certifications from the American Viniyoga Institute and a teaching certification from A.G. Mohan in Chennai, India. His work for IAYT and his writings often have an economic and public policy perspective. In recent years, much of John's work has centered around organizing IAYT's practitioner and research conferences, developing standards for the training of yoga therapists, providing accreditation for programs that meet those standards, and now, certifying individuals who meet IAYT standards.


Daniel Seitz, JD, EdD, Facilitator and Advisor to the Committee Dan has worked for more than 20 years in the field of complementary and alternative medicine education, accreditation and regulation. He currently serves as the executive director of the Council on Naturopathic Medical Education, consults with alternative medicine colleges and organizations on accreditation, strategic planning, marketing, administration and other matters, and does professional facilitation. Dan previously served as the founding dean for the School of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine at New York Chiropractic College, chair of the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, president of New England School of Acupuncture, and chief of the Acupuncture Unit for the Massachusetts Board of Medicine.